From Teacher to Student

This teacher has officially become a student.

It’s very bizarre having the tables being turned. Bizarre, but necessary. When we decided that we would be moving to Switzerland, I knew I was going to take a language class. Like most countries, when you are in a major city, you can probably get away with knowing only English. But, like most countries, the further you move from the city, the less English there is. I do not live in Zurich, Bern, Geneva, or other hot tourist spots around Switzerland. Therefore, learning German, even a little, has become an absolute necessity.

We’ve only been living here for 3 weeks (3 weeks today actually), and I have to admit I have been going a little stir crazy. I am used to having something to do each and every day. But, when my husband walks out the door and I am left for 10+ hours on my own, I am not quite sure what to do with my time. I do go outside as much as possible and explore the surrounding area, but I have become a little desperate for human contact. A conversation. A short exchange of words! But sadly mein Deutsch ist nicht zu gut.

Knowing this, I began to research various language schools in and around my area. My biggest deciding factors were:

  1. When does the course begin? (Right away! I was going stir crazy after all!!)
  2. How intensive is the course? (I wanted to be able to hold a decent conversation in German like yesterday)
  3. Do they have a course for beginners? (I took a German course 2 years back, but lets face it, if you don’t use it, you lose it) 
  4. How easy is the school to get to? (My lack of direction is on the verge of being pathetic).

All of these questions brought me answers at Berlitz. Their beginner German course started right away (I signed up for it on Saturday and the class started Monday), it is a fairly intensive course (2 hours and 45 minutes each day from Monday to Friday for a month), and it takes only a few changeovers on the train to get to the school in Zurich (Easy, even for me!).

I have only just started the course, but I am loving being out and about in Switzerland, and I love being able to have a conversation (Even if it is in broken German). I am hoping I can soon have a full out (OK) very simple conversation with a German speaker soon!

Wish me luck and don’t forget to subscribe to continue to read more about my affair.

Leave a Reply

